Board of Directors: Dana Beyer

Dana Beyer, MD

Beyer_061912 smallDr. Dana Beyer is a retired eye surgeon who was a candidate for the Maryland state Senate in 2014. She is currently Executive Director of Gender Rights Maryland, the state’s trans political organization that worked the gender identity bill to passage in 2014. In 2009 she helped organize and co-authored The Dallas Principles. She led the coalitions that passed the Baltimore, Howard and Montgomery County gender identity anti-discrimination laws, and defended the Montgomery County law against national right-wing forces in 2008. She was on the workgroup at the Washington Psychiatric Society that wrote the Gender Dysphoria text for the DSM 5, declassifying being transgender as a mental disorder. She was the first out trans graduate of the Senior Executive Program in State and Local Government at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

Dana has been an advocate on public health issues, including research on the effects of DES and endocrine disruptors on human sexuality and reproduction, and was lead staffer passing the first county-wide ban of artificial trans fats in the U.S. – a ban that will be extended nationwide next year. Dana served a term as a senior adviser for Councilmember Trachtenberg on the Montgomery County Council. She writes a weekly column for The Huffington Post. She recently served on the Rules Committee of the national Democratic Party, and has twice run for state Delegate in Maryland District 18. She was inducted into the Montgomery County Human Rights Hall of Fame in 2014.

In addition to being on the board of B Stigma-Free, Dana is chair of the national advisory board of Freedom to Work and is on the board of Keshet, the national Jewish LGBT organization. She is also on the steering committee of Progressive Neighbors, Montgomery County’s leading progressive advocacy organization. Dana has been VP of Equality Maryland and Maryland NOW, a Human Rights Campaign (HRC) Governor, and a board member of Mobile Med and the National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE).

Board of Directors:

Dana Beyer, MD

Thomas Kaylor

Marvin Pannell, MBA

Vernon S. Thompson, DMin, MEd, MDiv


Advisory Council:

Neelum T. Aggarwal, MD

Patrick Corrigan, PsyD

Irwin Krieger, LCSW

William B. Lawson, MD, PhD, DLFAPA

Andrea Leonardi, MA

Deborah Lipschitz, MD

Michael Morris, PhD

Rebecca M. Puhl, PhD

Catherine E. Semcer

Marilyn Price Spivack

Janie Victoria Ward, EdD, MEd