Advisory Council: William B. Lawson, MD, PhD, DLFAPA

LawsonDr. Lawson is  Associate Dean for Disparities at The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School and a professor at the school. He is the former Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Howard University Health Sciences, Washington, DC. He is Past President of the DC chapter of Mental Health America, Past President of the Washington Psychiatric Society, a Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and a member of the American College of Psychiatrists. He is past Chair of the Section of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences of the National Medical Association, and past president of the Black Psychiatrists of America. He received the American Psychiatric Foundation Award for Advancing Minority Mental Health, and was given the 2014 Solomon Carter Fuller Award by the American Psychiatric Association, which honors a Black citizen who has pioneered in an area which has significantly benefited the quality of life for Black people. He was inducted in Sigma XI the scientific honor society and Alpha Omega Alpha, the medical honor society. National Alliance for the Mentally Ill Exemplary Psychiatrist Award and the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, Outstanding Psychologist Award. He was twice named one of “America’s Leading Black Doctors” by Black Enterprise Magazine, A “Super Doctor” by the Washington Post many times, and Top Doctor by US news and World Report multiple times. He was the Andrea Delgado Honoree and Lecturer for the Black Psychiatrists of America, received the Jeanne Spurlock Award from the American Psychiatric Association, received the E.Y. Williams Clinical Scholar of Distinction Award from the Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Section of the National Medical Association, a Multicultural Workplace Award from the Veterans Administration for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of diversity and multicultural understanding. He received the Howard University College of Medicine Research Award, the Faculty Senate Creativity and Research Award, and Profiles in Courage Award. He has over 180 publications and has received federal, industry, and foundation funding to study and treat severe mental illness, substance abuse, and AIDs.

Board of Directors:

Dana Beyer, MD

Thomas Kaylor

Marvin Pannell, MBA

Vernon S. Thompson, DMin, MEd, MDiv


Advisory Council:

Neelum T. Aggarwal, MD

Patrick Corrigan, PsyD

Irwin Krieger, LCSW

William B. Lawson, MD, PhD, DLFAPA

Andrea Leonardi, MA

Deborah Lipschitz, MD

Michael Morris, PhD

Rebecca M. Puhl, PhD

Catherine E. Semcer

Marilyn Price Spivack

Janie Victoria Ward, EdD, MEd