Advisory Council – Neelum T. Aggarwal, MD


Neelum T. Aggarwal, MD, is a population health neurologist and clinical researcher in the field of longevity and aging. She is co-leader of the federally funded Rush Alzheimer’s Disease Center Clinical Core in Chicago and an associate professor in the Department of Neurological Sciences at Rush University Medical Center. She obtained her medical degree from the Rosalind Franklin University Chicago Medical School, completed her neurology residency at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan, and completed an aging and neurodegenerative disorders fellowship at the Rush Alzheimer’s Disease Center.

Aggarwal is the co-principal investigator for the federally funded PCORI grant, Community Engagement for Early Recognition and Immediate Action in Stroke (CEERIAS) study, which is a multi-institutional and academic-community partnered program designed to address disparities in stroke awareness, barriers to health care access, and treatments and outcomes in Chicago’s minority communities.

Dr. Aggarwal was recently appointed as the first chief diversity officer for the American Medical Women’s Association – the oldest women’s physician medical organization in the United States – and is responsible for defining national diversity and inclusion objectives, enhancing the diversity of AMWA’s leadership team, and leading AMWA’s Diversity and Inclusion Section and resource groups. She previously served two terms on the AMWA Board of Directors, and actively advanced inclusion initiatives in her role as co-chair of the Mentoring Task Force.

Aggarwal has served in numerous leadership roles, overseeing clinical operations, serving as a grant reviewer, and conducting her own research in aging and dementia. She has authored more than 40 manuscripts, presented at national and international conferences on topics of aging and dementia and is a frequent blogger for the Alzheimer’s Disease Cooperative Study Group, commenting on findings from aging research in the areas of women’s brain health, racial and ethnic minorities and special populations.

Board of Directors:

Dana Beyer, MD

Thomas Kaylor

Marvin Pannell, MBA

Vernon S. Thompson, DMin, MEd, MDiv


Advisory Council:

Neelum T. Aggarwal, MD

Patrick Corrigan, PsyD

Irwin Krieger, LCSW

William B. Lawson, MD, PhD, DLFAPA

Andrea Leonardi, MA

Deborah Lipschitz, MD

Michael Morris, PhD

Rebecca M. Puhl, PhD

Catherine E. Semcer

Marilyn Price Spivack

Janie Victoria Ward, EdD, MEd